The Governor's Office of Highway Safety is celebrating the 22nd anniversary of the Governor's Challenge Awards in 2022.  The Governor's Challenge Awards is the state's premier law enforcement awards ceremony recognizing state, local, campus and mlitary law enforcement units for the outstanding work they do in promoting highway safety through education and enforcement. 

The application portal is NOW OPEN and all agencies are encouraged to start their applications now.  The deadline for 2022 Governor's Challenge Applications is 11:59 p.m. on Friday, May 20, 2022.   

The GOHS Law Enforcement Services team is ready to assist any agency with any questions about their application and they have also written a How-To-Guide to help agencies craft a winning application. 

Governor's Challenge is designed to highlight outstanding achievements in highway safety enforcement and education. It recognizes agencies for the approach and effectiveness of their overall highway safety programs. Agencies are evaluated not just for enforcement initiatives, but for innovative problem-solving in their communities, using public information activities and creating departmental policies that support their traffic enforcement campaign efforts.

The Georgia Governor’s Challenge is aligned with the national traffic safety priorities of impaired driving, occupant protection, and speed. Agencies are also encouraged to include information about any local issue you are addressing, such as distracted driving, pedestrian crashes, young drivers, etc.

Current Governor's Challenge award categories are as follows:



An agency may earn up to 205 points across seven (7) specific areas:
•  Policy (25 points)
•  Training (25 points)
•  Incentives & Recognition (20 points)
•  Public Information & Education (40 points)
•  Enforcement (40 points)
•  Effectiveness (40 points)
•  Quality of Application (15 point)


                            2021 Governor's Challenge Winners

Category 1: 1-10 Officers  
Demorest Police Department 1st Place
Boston Police Department 2nd Place
Wilcox County Sheriff’s Office 3rd Place
Category 2: 11-25 Officers  
Washington County Sheriff’s Office 1st Place
Sandersville Police Department 2nd Place
Adairsville Police Department 3rd Place
Category 3: 26-45 Officers  
Calhoun Police Department 1st Place
Perry Police Department 2nd Place
Franklin County Sheriff’s Office 3rd Place
Category 4: 46-75 Officers  
Snellville Police Department 1st Place
Habersham County Sheriff’s Office 2nd Place
Crisp County Sheriff’s Office 3rd Place
Category 5: 76-100  
Dalton Police Department 1st Place
Smyrna Police Department 2nd Place
Effingham County Sheriff’s Office 3rd Place
Category 6: 101-200  
Gainesville Police Department 1st Place
Warner Robins Police Department 2nd Place
Valdosta Police Department 3rd Place
Category 7: 201-500  
Forsyth County Sheriff’s Office 1st Place
Hall County Sheriff’s Office 2nd Place
Douglas County Sheriff’s Office 3rd Place
Category 8:  501+  
Cobb County Police Department 1st Place
Dekalb County Police Department 2nd Place
Atlanta Police Department 3rd Place
Category 9: Campus and University Police  
University of North Georgia 1st Place
University of West Georgia 2nd Place
Category 10: Military Police  
Fort Benning Police 1st Place
Category 11: Traffic Enforcement Network  
North East Traffic Enforcement Network 1st Place
Middle Georgia Traffic Enforcement Network 2nd Place
Coastal Area Traffic Enforcement Network 3rd Place
Coordinator of the Year Sgt. Christy Nicholson
(Calhoun Police Department)
Mountain Area Traffic Enforcement Network
Asst Coordinator of Year Lt. Victor Tyson
(Pooler Police Department)
Southeastern Traffic Enforcement Network
HEAT Team of the Year  
Habersham County Sheriff’s Office 1st Place
GSP Nighthawks South 2nd Place
Forsyth County Sheriff’s Office 3rd Place
Gainesville Police Department Impaired Driving
Jefferson Police Department Speed Awareness
Calhoun Police Department Occupant Protection
Crisp County Sheriff’s Office Distracted Driving
Dublin Police Department Rookie of the Year
Snellville Police Department Child Passenger Safety
Woodstock Police Department Bike/Pedestrian Safety
Dublin Police Department Teen/Young Driver Safety
Warner Robins Police Department Motorcycle Safety
Dalton Police Department (200 Points) Governor’s Cup


How-To Guide

GOHS Law Enforcement Contact List

                 (For more information, contact Roger Hayes at 404-971-0379.)